Annual fund drive is underway!

Welcome to
Back Mountain Regional Fire & EMS

Home of Medic 30

(570) 675-0636

About Us

Our Story


Back Mountain Fire & EMS was formed in 2013 as a combination of Dallas Fire & Ambulance, Lehman Township Volunteer Fire Department and Shavertown Volunteer Fire Company. Through this regionalization, the company provides Dallas and its neighboring Back Mountain municipalities with the area’s premiere fire and ambulance service.

The Department serves a population of 30,000 people over a 61 mile area. Back Mountain Regional responds to 3,500 emergencies each year from its 3 stations located at 184 East Center Hill Road, Dallas Township, 23 Firehouse Road, Lehman and 170 N. Main St., Shavertown.

Its reputation for excellence and for providing the highest quality care has allowed the company to recruit the area’s top Paramedics and EMT’s to staff its 3 ambulances which are available 24 hours per day with a combination of full-time staff members and volunteers.

Back Mountain Regional’s Paramedic Service has achieved an industry reputation of excellence for providing the highest level of quality care in the area. Our record and commitment to the service has allowed us to recruit the area’s top Paramedic’s and EMT’s.

The fire department has been recognized for the professional qualifications of its members by the Pennsylvania Office of the State Fire Commissioner through its Professional Certification Program. The program certifies departments for its accomplishment in training and education when it meets or exceeds the nationally recognized standards. Back Mountain Regional Fire Department is the only area department which has been recognized for having over 50% of its fire personnel certified.

Our equipment consists of 1 Pumper Truck, 2 Rescue Trucks, 1 Ladder Truck, 2 Tankers, 3 Ambulances, 2 Brush Trucks, 1 6x6 Utility Vehicle, 1 Hazardous Materials Trailer, and a large inventory of portable equipment to provide various services during natural disaster incidents.

Back Mountain Regional is led by Fire Chief Harry Vivian and EMS Chief Christopher Woolfolk

Get Involved

Are you passionate about what we're doing? Let us know! We are always looking for volunteers to help us make our vision a reality. We'll help you find a way to volunteer that best suits you. We're excited to have you join the team! 

Find out more

Thank You

Whether you help through monetary donations or volunteering your time, thank you. We couldn't accomplish our goals without the help of supporters like you. 

Donate Now

We are dedicated to improving the lives of those in our community. Your contribution today helps us make a difference.

Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card